Those renowned words from the mascot of MAD magazine have crept into the prefrontal cortex of my brain. I’ve not thought of them in eons… just a memory of my oldest brother Ricky lounging on our living room couch deeply immersed in its contents.

Now while this magazine is not a habitual part of my thought process, the idea of WORRY has been quite prominent. I realize now more than ever before the implications of succumbing to this emotion.

The most enlightened quote I know of regarding this tendency comes from author, Dan Zadra: ‘Worry is a misuse of the imagination.’

I grew up with a mom who worried A LOT. Her last words to me as I would leave the house were ALWAYS, “BE CAREFUL!” I love(d) that woman more than words can say and still feel her with me every single day, but I do hope that now that she is ‘seeing things from a more universal perspective’, the apprehension has morphed into peace.

Worry when examined really breaks down to fear – fear of ‘what might happen.’ It is using the mind to imagine worst possible scenarios. And when we realize that our thoughts and intentions are ENERGY, we also become aware that we are sending this energy into the exact outcomes we most want to avoid.

So. What if we used that energy in a more positive way. Why not picture the best outcomes rather than the worst? I am not saying that there aren’t times in life when we will feel concern. But why imagine the future with anguish?

If you find that you have a tendency to negatively project outcomes in your life or the lives of others, just give this a try:

Come back into the present moment. Take a nice long breath. Be grateful for all of the gifts currently in your life. (For instance, if you are reading this, be thankful for your vision. If you have a full tummy, be thankful for the food available to you. If you are saying, “This woman is just nuts”, be thankful for your ability to think. You get the idea.)

And remember – ‘seeing’ your loved ones in a scenario that is less than healthy or safe is not doing them any favors. Be vigilant, yes, in proactive ways. (i.e. eat healthy, exercise, meditate, inform yourself what to do in emergency situations, do that ‘gratitude’ thing, etc). but also do your best to curtail the toxic ‘what ifs’ until you can also exclaim, with confidence, “What, ME worry?”

Peace.CHOICE1

